Managing your projects

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Bizagi Studio > Bizagi Projects >

Managing your projects

Overview

This option is used to manage existing projects previously registered (opened) in Bizagi Studio.

All projects that have been previously opened will be listed by clicking on the All Projects option:

 

StudioProjects

 

Options to manage your projects are: to delete them, disjoin from them (if they are hosted on a remote server), upgrade them to a newer version, open the project, or reconfigure it's database connection.

In addition to this, from this view, you may create new projects.

 

Creating a process12

 

Options

Each option available in this window is detailed below.

 

New project

Launches the create a new project wizard.

For doubts on this procedure, refer to Creating a new project.

 

Delete a project

Projects can only be deleted from the local machine where that project is hosted.

When clicking on Delete a project, a confirmation dialog will display to prompt the user whether the deletion should be executed or not.

Confirming this action will permanently remove the project.

 

Creating a process13

 

A second window will prompt the user to allow him to keep the database or not.

Keeping the database is useful if you ever need to restore that same project's progress in a different location.

 

Creating a process14

 

Disjoin from a project

If the project is hosted on a remote server and you no longer need to work on it, you may use the Disjoin option.

This will not delete the project, but it will rather only delete the list entry.

A confirmation dialog will also display prompting the user whether to disjoin.

 

Creating a process15

 

 

Open a project

Loads the project into your Bizagi Studio.

If the project has not been upgraded to the current version of your Bizagi Studio installation, it will prompt about this in order to provide you with the option to upgrade it first (note that carrying out an upgrade of the project is recommended from the local machine where that project is hosted).

 

Change database user

Allows you to reconfigure the connection to your project's database.

This option is useful when using advanced configuration of SQL Server login accounts, oriented for different profiles working in a project.

 

Important

Take into consideration that it is a good practice to store database backups of your project's implementation.

For this, you may rely on scheduled automatic backups as supported by the database engine your installation uses, or choose to create backups manually at any moment (i.e, before any important change is done).

For more information about creating manual backups, refer to How to create a backup of your Bizagi database.

 

Taking backups is useful as a contingency measure (in case something does not go as expected), a disaster recovery measure (to restore your project's progress to a previous state), or to simply share or move your project into a different location.

For more information about the two latter options, refer to How to move or clone a Bizagi project.