How to move or clone a Bizagi project

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Bizagi Studio > How To´s > Useful how-to's >

How to move or clone a Bizagi project

Overview

When working in a Bizagi Studio project to automate processes, the database for that project will store all the information relevant to those processes and their implementation (Bizagi being model-driven).

Information not contained in the database will mainly be any documents attached to the processes, which are stored in a file server or at an integrated ECM system.

 

Therefore with Bizagi, you may easily:

Move a project from one server to another.

Moving a project considers the possibility to set up a teamwork collaboration architecture by keeping the progress of a project that has been already worked on.

Clone a project in order to reuse its implementation for another project (as a as a template or starting point).

Cloning a project to reuse may be done only if that project has had no deployments so far (to a Production or Test environment).

 

Both options to move or clone the project only apply for projects in their automation stages (the development environment).

To move projects in a working environment (Production), Bizagi offers options from Bizagi Management Console.

 

 

note_pin

This approach should not be used to publish your processes into a Production or Test environment. To publish processes into a Production or Test environment, use Bizagi Deployment features instead.

Bizagi offers a Deployment Wizard to easily promote processes and keep track of incremental changes in such processes (for new process versions and continuous improvement).

 

 

Procedure

Copy an entire Bizagi Studio project into a new one, by carrying out the following steps.

 

1. Create a database backup.

For information about this step, refer to How to create a backup of your Bizagi database.

 

2. Create a new Bizagi project on the target server.

For information about this step, refer to Creating a new project.

 

3. Restoring the database backup into the new project's database.

For information about this step, refer to How to restore a backup of your Bizagi database.

 

At the end, you will have a new project reusing the processes information stored in a parallel database, using a separate Work portal and a separate Scheduler service.

If you are moving the project, the only difference when compared to cloning it, would be that you would delete the original project at the end (since you no longer need it where it was).