Project and environment management

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Automation Service Management > Run Portal >

Project and environment management

note_pin

If Management Console Web is available in your subscription, you must manage your environments from their individual Management Console Web.

 

The Bizagi Run portal is where admin users manage all projects and environments created in Automation Service.

To access the Run Portal, click the Run option the Management Portal.

 

A project created in Automation Service corresponds directly to a project developed in Bizagi Studio. A single project can contain two or more environments.

 

All project environments must have packages imported from the same Bizagi Studio project.

 

The projects and environment features available are:

Create and delete projects

Create and delete environments

Import (deploy) packages to Testing environments to conduct user-acceptance tests, and to Production environments, so end users can use the final production versions of your applications. When importing (deploying), take into account all steps mentioned in the Importing a process article. Some additional steps are required when bringing an application live in Automation Service (whether Test or Production environment). Learn more in From Studio to the cloud.

 

Project and environment creation requires a commercial agreement to be in place. A sales representative is ready to help you with this. Contact us.

 

Creating new projects

To create a project, go to your subscription and select the green plus icon.

 

create_project_1

 

Give the new project a name and a brief, meaningful description.

 

create_project_2

 

note_pin

All projects must have unique names, even within subscriptions.

 

Bizagi creates the project without environments.

 

create_project_4

 

 

Deleting projects

The subscription owner can delete projects at any time. Bear in mind that this action is not reversible and will delete every environment contained in the project you delete.

 

delete_project

 

Once you select this option, Bizagi displays a confirmation dialog to make sure you want to delete the project.

 

delete_project_sure

 

Type the name of the project and mark the checkbox Yes, I want to delete the project. Then click the Delete button.

 

Project information

Every project has information displaying the number of active, created and with-error environments. They display under the project name:

 

counters

 

Total environments: The number of created environments.

Active: The number of environments with an uploaded package.

Created: The number of environments without an uploaded package.

Error: The number of environments with error(s) when running the uploaded application.

When an environment presents errors, please contact our support team.

 

Creating new environments

applies_personal

Creating a new environment lets you upload a packaged application and run it. New environments are created in the latest available Bizagi Version.

 

note_pin

For Enterprise subscriptions, Contact us to request the creation of new environment.

 

To create a new environment, select the Create environment option in the three-dotted menu for the project.

 

create_project_3

 

Select the environment category for the environment.

 

create_environment2

 

Give a meaningful name, of up to 20 characters, to the new environment and select the expiration date of your trial (up to 2 months after the creation date) and the type of your environment. Leave the other fields with the default value.

 

create_environment3

 

When you are ready, click Continue.

 

Bizagi displays the environment characteristics. Click Create to start creation of the project.

 

create_environment4

 

note_pinWARNING

During environment creation, do not close your browser or log out until the process finishes to avoid errors.

 

The new environment will have the Created state, which means it is ready to upload and install an application package.

 

create_environment1  

 

Running an application

When you click the Run button, the Work Portal of the environment opend in a new window. The Work Portal is where end users or testers work with the uploaded application.

 

running_an_environment

 

applies_enterprise

The Work Portal's URL will vary depending on the environment:

Testing environment's URL:

https://test-[your_project]-[your_company].bizagi.com

Production environment's URL:

https://[your_project]-[your_company].bizagi.com

 

Make sure you have imported an application package before running the Work Portal. If you have not, the server displays an empty Work Portal.

 

Maintenance Window

The Maintenance window lets you to perform a soft reset of the environment, which implies stopping the Scheduler and clean Cache without restarting the server.

 

Maintenance_Window

 

Monitoring an environment

Each environment has an Activity Monitor icon so you can monitor the environment's resource use and BPUs consumed.

A thorough explanation of monitoring is found in the Resource monitoring article.

 

activity_monitor

 

Environment administration

applies_enterprise

You can access your environment's Management Console from the cloud engine portal. For more information about Automation Service Management Console please refer to Management console.

 

mc_environment

 

Resetting an environment

Bizagi's Run Portal lets you reset your Bizagi server, which is like cleaning up the cache of a browser, to allow changes deployed to be updated in the Work Portal.

To reset your Bizagi Server, locate the reset options within the three-dotted menu of the environment. For more information, please refer to Resetting an environment.

 

reset01

 

Deleting an environment

applies_personal

Every environment can be deleted. All data stored in the environment, along with log files and metrics, is deleted with it.

Select the trash can icon of the environment to delete.

 

delete_environment

 

This option is also available in the three dot menu.

 

Once you select this option, Bizagi displays a confirmation dialog to make sure you want to delete the environment.

 

delete_environment_2

 

Type the name of the environment and mark the checkbox Yes, I want to delete the environment. Then, click the Delete button.